Five Poems

As always, I would like to preface any poems I’ve written with “I am a baby, fledgling poet who still doesn’t understand the conventions of poetry but really wants to get in on the game so I’m ravenously reading poetry (particularly slam poetry which in all honesty is the genre that really captivates me), but nevertheless my heart lies in fiction and prose so my poetry probably isn’t going to be Blythe Baird or Maya Angelou no matter how hard I try (I’m still gonna write it though, so bite me).”

Here are five I’m submitting to my on-campus literary magazine. I suspect that only three of them are publishable. Can you tell which/do you have an opinion?

pyrrhicvictoriestoeatramennoodlesrawdearpoetsjuly42016loveorwhatreallymatters

Additionally: looking for title suggestions for that last one! The title as it is now is lame.

Leave a Reply

